Boston Theater Critics Association members with Olympia Dukakis and Paul Daigneault



Olympia Dukakis


Paul Daigneault

It was a fabulous night!! THE MAYOR Marty Walsh spoke about his commitment to Boston as an ARTS town; OSCAR-WINNER Olympia Dukakis was honored, and her cousin and former GOVERNOR Mike Dukakis paid tribute! I’m talking about the 32nd annual Elliot Norton AwardsThe “Norties” are Boston’s version of the TONYS for our theater community! As President of the Boston Theater Critics Association, I emceed at the WHEELOCK FAMILY THEATRE as we celebrated the outstanding performances and productions of the 2014 season.

Big winners included the ART (Bryan Cranston for “All The Way”) with 4 Norties, and ZEITGEIST STAGE (“Punk Rock” and “The Normal Heart”),  COMPANY ONE (“The Flick”) and WHEELOCK FAMILY THEATRE (“Hairspray”) each with 3 Nortie Awards. SPEAKEASY STAGE COMPANY’S Paul Daigneault accepted The 2013 Elliot Norton Prize For Sustained Excellence.


Elliot Norton Lifetime Achievement Award:  Olympia Dukakis

Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence: Paul Daigneault

Outstanding Visiting Production:
Mies Julie,  Baxter Theatre Centre; presented by ArtsEmerson

Outstanding Production by a Large Resident Theater:
All the Way,  American Repertory Theater

Outstanding Production by a Midsize Theater:
Tribes,  SpeakEasy Stage Company

Outstanding Production by a Small Theater:

Mayor Marty Walsh

Mayor Marty Walsh

The Flick, Company One; co-presented by Suffolk University

Outstanding Production by a Fringe Theater:
Punk Rock,  Zeitgeist Stage Company

Outstanding Design, Large Theater:
The Heart of Robin Hood, American Repertory Theater
Set design by Börkur Jónsson, Costumes by Emma Ryott, Lighting by Björn Helgason, Sound by Jonathan Deans.

Outstanding Design, Midsize, Small or Fringe Theater:
The Flick, Company One; co-presented by Suffolk University
Scenic design by Cristina Todesco, Lighting by Jen Rock, Costumes by Amanda Maciel Antunes, Sound by Edward Young, Props Master Anita Shriver.

Outstanding Musical Production by a Large Theater:
The Jungle Book, Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Musical Production by a Midsize, Small or Fringe Company:
Hairspray, Wheelock Family Theatre

Outstanding Musical Performance by an Actor:
Francis Jue, Miss Saigon, North Shore Music Theatre

Outstanding Musical Performance by an Actress:
Aimee Doherty, On the Town (Lyric Stage Company of Boston) and Hairspray (Wheelock Family Theatre)

Outstanding New Script:
Windowmen by Steven Barkhimer, Boston Playwrights’ Theatre

Outstanding Director, Large Theater:
Gisli Örn Gardarsson, The Heart of Robin Hood American Repertory Theater

Outstanding Director, Midsize Theater:
Ilyse Robbins, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Stoneham Theatre

Outstanding Director, Small or Fringe Theater:
David J. Miller, Punk Rock and The Normal Heart, Zeitgeist Stage Company

Outstanding Actor, Large Theater:Aawarded in honor of Jeremy Geidt
Bryan Cranston, All the Way, American Repertory Theater

Outstanding Actress, Large Theater: awarded in honor of Julie Harris
Andrea Syglowski, Venus in Fur, Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Actor, Midsize Theater:
Jeremiah Kissel, Imagining Madoff, New Repertory Theatre

Outstanding Actress, Midsize Theater:
Erica Spyres, Tribes, SpeakEasy Stage Company

Outstanding Actor, Small or Fringe Theater:
Alex Pollock, This Is Our Youth (Gloucester Stage Company), Windowmen (Boston Playwrights’ Theatre),
and The Flick (Company One; co-presented by Suffolk University)

Outstanding Actress, Small or Fringe Theater:
Maureen Adduci, The Normal Heart  Zeitgeist Stage Company

Outstanding Ensemble, Large Theater: awarded in honor of Nicholas Martin
The Seagull, Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Ensemble, Midsize, Small or Fringe Theater
Hairspray, Wheelock Family Theatre