:30 SECOND REVIEW–LINCOLN

Joyce Kulhawik February 23, 2013 21

Welcome to my new JOYCE’S :30 SECOND REVIEW of LINCOLN! If you don’t have time to read my FULL TEXT REVIEW, and you want the bottom line fast, with VIDEO–

Check out my :30 Second Review! Let me know what you think!

Related »

21 Comments »

  1. Peter Bellotti February 23, 2013 at 6:53 pm - Reply

    Joyce –

    Very good 30 second review of Lincoln. (There is a much to recommend about the movie, so maybe two 30-second reviews would have been fine, too.) My wife and I saw it a few weeks ago – and your review is right on!

    Peter Bellotti

    • Joyce Kulhawik March 3, 2013 at 7:45 pm - Reply

      LOL! Glad you liked the format and you can still link to the full text review if you want more! Appreciate very much the positive feedback!

  2. Kathy Alpert February 23, 2013 at 7:39 pm - Reply

    Hi Joyce,

    Great editing. You packed a lot of substance into those 30 seconds.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Kathy

    • Joyce Kulhawik March 3, 2013 at 7:23 pm - Reply

      Thanks so much for the positive feedback Kathy! I’m still tweaking!

  3. Ann Heimlicher February 24, 2013 at 8:14 am - Reply

    I agree,
    I loved Lincoln and I also enjoyed Zero Dark Thirty

    • Joyce Kulhawik March 3, 2013 at 7:19 pm - Reply

      Thanks for the positive feedback, Ann! Stay tuned!

  4. Saul Wisnia February 24, 2013 at 2:35 pm - Reply

    Joyce, it’s so great to see you reviewing movies again — and I agree with you completely about Lincoln! I hope Daniel Day Lewis picks up the Oscar tonight; it is richly deserved.

    My only question is this: Why keep your reviews to only 30 seconds? Even in a “give it to me quick” world, our many fans would certainly want at least 60 seconds of your insightful commentary.

    • Joyce Kulhawik March 3, 2013 at 7:16 pm - Reply

      Hey Saul– Thanks so much for the kind words! I decided on the :30 second review as a really good shorthand way to give folks the bottom line in this fast-paced world. BUT it is by no means a complete review so I figured also putting in a link to my FULL TEXT REVIEW would satisfy anyone who wants more! I’d love to do :60 second reviews as well. This is a beginning– on my way to world domination of course.

  5. Flo Rawl February 24, 2013 at 3:52 pm - Reply

    Joyce,
    Neat 30 second review of Lincoln, loved it.
    Saw Silver Lings Playbook last night. I cannot for the life of me figure out why everyone thinks this is so fabulous.
    I found it to be a pastiche of dated sentimental cliches dressed up as a serious look at mental illness. Starts off as A Woman Under the Influence, ends with dancing with the stars. Huh?
    Some good acting eg: Robert Di Niro digging deep occasionally while playing Robert Di Niro. Main character was quite good.
    Look forward to more of your FB postings…not up to twitter speed yet…
    cheers,
    Flo

    • Joyce Kulhawik March 3, 2013 at 7:13 pm - Reply

      Hey Flo– You and I are definitely on the same wavelength! I will have a :30 second review of Silver Linings next go round!! Thanks for the feedback!

  6. Pat Kreger February 24, 2013 at 7:03 pm - Reply

    Joyce..this is terrific. Best of luck with it.

    Pat Kreger

    • Joyce Kulhawik March 3, 2013 at 7:12 pm - Reply

      YAY Pat– I appreciate the positive feedback– you know good TV when you see it!!

  7. Sharon Johnson February 25, 2013 at 9:57 am - Reply

    Love this review–and the whole “30 Second Review” concept. Perfect for anyone on the fence about whether or not to see a movie. Keep these reviews coming!

  8. Brian Zanghi February 25, 2013 at 10:08 am - Reply

    Hi Joyce – enjoyed the scan of characters. Disappointed Sally Field didn’t win Oscar for ‘supporting’. Would love to see more…. BKZ

    • Joyce Kulhawik March 3, 2013 at 7:08 pm - Reply

      I agree about Sally– she’s tremendous– but Anne did do a great job. Thanks for the feedback!

  9. Dorinda Galbraith February 25, 2013 at 10:14 am - Reply

    Joyce,

    Loved your review and the Academy for the Oscars agreed!

    Best,
    Dorinda

  10. Candace Ankermann March 1, 2013 at 9:16 pm - Reply

    Liked it. Now I wonder why I haven’t seen it yet.

    I would refer back to your 30 second reviews when my husband and I are trying to decide which movie to see
    And also show him.

  11. Tom Janssen May 30, 2013 at 3:45 pm - Reply

    Finally, Joyce
    We get to see you again! I loved the :30 second review. You packed it full of great info and, as usual, your insightful and critical perspectives are right on!
    Congratulations and keep up the good work. I always look forward to reading your site! Now, on to the the Media Tours (do they still have them?) and interviews with the “stahs”!
    Tom

    • Joyce Kulhawik June 6, 2013 at 11:47 am - Reply

      Hey Tom! Glad you like the :30 second review! Am in the process of launching them! Hope all is well with you!
      Best,
      J.

Leave A Response »


5 × seven =

JOYCE'S CHOICES, your trusted guide to the best movies, theater, where to eat and have fun in Boston and beyond!